تونس: تركيز السلطات بيد رئيس الجمهورية تهديد للحقوق وللحريات

تونس: تركيز السلطات بيد رئيس الجمهورية تهديد للحقوق وللحريات - Civic Space

Police control on Avenue Bourguiba, Tunis. Photograph: Luis_Martinez/ Shutterstock

تدين منظمة المادة 19 صدور أمر رئاسي جديد يمكّن الرئيس التونسي قيس سعيد من التحكم في السلطات الثلاث وهو ما يشكل تهديدًا خطيرًا لحقوق الإنسان وإحباطا لمسار الإصلاح الديمقراطي في البلاد.

يأتي الأمر الرئاسي[1]، الصادر في 22 سبتمبر 2021، ضمن حزمة من الإجراءات الاستثنائية لمعالجة عدم الاستقرار في البلاد، بما في ذلك الاحتجاجات المستمرة بعد شهرين من تعليق مجلس النواب وإقالة رئيس الوزراء.

في 25 جويلية2021، أعلن الرئيس الحالة الاستثنائية بناء على مقتضيات الفصل 80 من الدستور، إلا أنه علق فعليًا الدستور الحالي من خلال ضرب مبدأ الفصل بين السلطات. كما واصل الأمر الرئاسي الجديد تعليق اختصاصات مجلس نواب الشعب، وأسند لرئيس الجمهورية الاختصاص التشريعي مباشرة بواسطة مراسيم، دون أي إمكانية للطعن فيها.

تعبر منظمة المادة 19 عن قلقها أيضًا من غياب أي تسقيف زمني بالرغم من وجوب أن تكون التدابير الاستثنائية مؤقتة، الأمر الذي من شأنه أن يضفي مزيدا من الغموض على المسار السياسي وتعزيز المخاوف بشأنه.

لقد تضمن الأمر المذكور مواصلة بإجراء تعليق اختصاصات مجلس نواب الشعب ورفع الحصانة عن النواب مع إضافة إجراء جديد متمثل في إيقاف صرف أجور رئيس المجلس النيابي وأعضائه. كما تم بمقتضى الفصل 4 تمكين رئيس الجمهورية من سن مراسيم في 29 مجالا من المجالات التي يختص بها البرلمان مثل تنظيم القضاء والانتخابات والإعلام والصحافة. وعلاوة على ذلك، وقع تحصين المراسيم التي يصدرها الرئيس من كل رقابة قضائية وفقا للفصل 7.

أما في مجال السلطة التنفيذية فلقد وقع تغيير التوازنات من خلال تجريد رئيس الحكومة من أغلب صلاحياته ليتحول إلى مجرد مساعد لرئيس الجمهورية الذي يختص بتعيين أعضاء الحكومة وبضبط برامجها وتحديد أولوياتها. كما أن الحكومة مسؤولة أمام رئيس الجمهورية، عوضا عن البرلمان، الذي أصبح بإمكانه إعفاء عضو أو أكثر.

كما ألغى الأمر الرئاسي تقريبا العمل بدستور 2014 رغم تنصيصه على مواصلة العمل بالتوطئة الدستور وبالبابين الأول والثاني منه والمتعلقين بالمبادئ العامة والحقوق والحريات، وبجميع الأحكام الدستورية التي لا تتعارض مع التدابير الاستثنائية مع الأمر الرئاسي عدد 117.

وأخيرا نص الفصل 22 على إحداث لجنة من أجل مساعدة رئيس الجمهورية في وضع التعديلات المتعلقة بالإصلاحات السياسية.

التعسف على الدستور والاعتداء على المبادئ الأساسية

ننبه، أولا، إلى تعارض هذا الأمر الرئاسي مع أحكام الفصل 80 من الدستور الذي ينص على وجوب أن تكون التدابير المتخذة من طرف رئيس الجمهورية مؤقتة في الزمن ومن أجل التصدي للخطر الداهم. في حين أن التدابير المعلن عنها تعتبر دائمة في الزمن مثل إلغاء الهيئة الوقتية لمراقبة دستورية مشاريع القوانين أو تغيير القانون الانتخابي أو إحداث لجنة لوضع التعديلات على الدستور.

ثانيا، أسند رئيس الجمهورية إلى نفسه صلاحيات السلطة التشريعية التي تخول له اتخاذ مراسيم في مجالات متعددة مثل الأحزاب والجمعيات والمنظمات والهيئات الدستورية وتنظيم العدالة والقضاء والانتخابات والإعلام وحقوق الإنسان. كما حصن الفصل 7 هذه المراسيم من الرقابة القضائية، وهو ما يشكل انتهاكا صارخا لمبدأ الفصل بين السلطات، الذي يقتضي أن تخضع كل سلطة لرقابة السلطة الأخرى، وللفصل 102 من الدستور الذي يضع على عاتق السلطة القضائية ضمان علوية الدستور ومراقبة جميع النصوص القانونية والتثبت من مدى ملاءمتها للدستور.

وعلى صعيد آخر، نص الفصل 22 من الأمر الرئاسي على إحداث لجنة لصياغة التعديلات الدستورية والإصلاحات التشريعية المحددة من طرف رئيس الجمهورية. ويؤكد هذا الخيار على استفراد رئيس الجمهورية بالقرار السياسي لوضع إصلاحات أحادية في ظل غياب البرلمان وأي إرادة في تشريك القوى السياسية والاجتماعية ومنظمات المجتمع المدني في بلورة خيارات تعكس تطلعات أفراد الشعب التونسي بجميع فئاته.

تهديد الإصلاحات الديمقراطية

تحذر منظمة المادة 19 من استغلال هذا الظرف الاستثنائي واتخاذ مراسيم في مجال الأحزاب والجمعيات والمنظمات والهيئات الدستورية وتنظيم العدالة والقضاء والانتخابات والإعلام وحقوق الإنسان بطريقة أحادية، في ظل تواصل تعليق اختصاصات البرلمان، ودون تشريك فعلي للقوى المدنية والاجتماعية والسياسية في البلاد والتشاور معها، خاصة وأنه لا يمكن الطعن في دستورية هذه المراسيم أمام القضاء، مما قد يشكل انحرافا بالسلطة وعقبة أمام إمكانية أي إصلاح ديمقراطي في البلاد.

كما نرى أن الإبقاء على الباب الثاني من الدستور المتعلق بالحقوق والحريات لا يمثل ضمانة حقيقية طالما وقع تجميد أو تعليق الآليات الدستورية لحمايتها، بما أنه أصبح بإمكان رئيس الجمهورية تنظيم الحريات بواسطة مراسيم غير قابلة للرقابة القضائية، علاوة على استحالة ممارسة البرلمان للرقابة السياسية على السلطة التنفيذية، بما أنه وقع تعليق اختصاصات مجلس نواب الشعب.

وما يزيد قلقنا استفحال ظاهرة تشويه المعارضين لسياسات قيس سعيد في ظل إفلات تام من المحاسبة، مما يوفر مناخا ترهيبيا سيدفع بالأفراد نحو العزوف عن التعبير عن آرائهم بكل حرية، علاوة على غياب تعددية حقيقية في وسائل الإعلام التونسية[2] التي تجنب جزء كبير منها الخوض في المسائل السياسية أو بث مضامين إعلامية غير منحازة لمصلحة رئيس الجمهورية، مما سيساهم في انحسار النقاش العمومي والنفور عن المشاركة في الشأن العام في مرحلة جد دقيقة بالنسبة إلى مستقبل الديمقراطية وحقوق الإنسان في تونس.

التوصيات

من أجل حماية مسار الانتقال الديمقراطي في تونس، توصي منظمة المادة 19 بالتالي:

إلى رئيس الجمهورية:

  • الإعلان بوضوح عن التاريخ المحدد لرفع حالة الاستثناء والعودة إلى المسار الديمقراطي وفقا للمبادئ الديمقراطية المنصوص عليها صلب الدستور.
  • الالتزام بإجراء الإصلاحات السياسية بصورة تشاركية وشاملة تعكس جميع التيارات السياسية في تونس.
  • إرجاع الاختصاصات التشريعية للبرلمان عبر انتخابات تشريعية مبكرة.
  • ضمان الفصل بين السلطات التنفيذية والتشريعية والقضائية وفقا للأحكام الدستورية وتجنب تركز جميع السطات بيد شخص واحد أو بيد لجان تابعة لشخص واحد.
  • الالتزام بالاحترام الكامل للمعاهدات الدولية لحقوق الإنسان المصادق عليها من طرف الجمهورية التونسية.
  • ضمان عدم تتبع أعضاء مجلس نواب الشعب والمواطنين بسبب ممارستهم لحقهم في حرية التعبير.
  • وضع حد للسياسات أحادية الجانب واعتماد مقاربة تشاركية ومنفتحة على جميع فئات الشعب التونسي دون أي إقصاء أو تمييز.
  • تعيين أعضاء اللجنة على أساس الكفاءة والنزاهة وفقا لمسار تشاركي تعددي وشفاف.

إلى الهيئة العليا المستقلة للاتصال السمعي والبصري:

  • ضمان التوازن في المشهد الإعلامي ونفاذ جميع التيارات السياسية إلى وسائل الإعلام.

إلى وسائل الإعلام:

  • الالتصاق بأخلاقيات المهنة الصحفية وتوخي الموضوعية والنزاهة في تغطية المسائل المتعلقة بالأزمة الدستورية والسياسية الراهنة.

إلى منظمات المجتمع المدني:

  • تكوين ائتلاف مدني واسع من أجل التصدي لجميع محاولات الارتداد عن المسار الديمقراطي.
  • مواصلة الدور الفعال الذي قام به المجتمع المدني منذ اندلاع الثورة، في ديسمبر 2010، في الرقابة على السلطات، ونشر قيم المجتمع الديمقراطي والتصدي للسياسات التي من شأنها المساس بالحقوق والحريات.

[1]للاطلاع علىالأمر الرئاسي عدد 117 لسنة 2021 المؤرّخ في 22 سبتمبر 2021 والمتعلق بتدابير استثنائية، أنقر هنا.

[2]يمكن الاطلاع على قرار الهيئة العليا المستقلة للاتصال السمعي والبصري حول التعددية السياسية في الفترة التي تلت إعلان رئيس الجمهورية للحالة الاستثنائية عبر الرابط التالي:

https://haica.tn/wp-content/uploads/2021/09/Rapport-pluralisme-25-31-juillet-2021.pdf

Font Resize
Contrast

Tunisia: Greater presidential powers threaten rights and freedoms

Tunisia: Greater presidential powers threaten rights and freedoms - Civic Space

Police control on Avenue Bourguiba, Tunis. Photograph: Luis_Martinez/ Shutterstock

ARTICLE 19 condemns a new decree granting Tunisian president Kais Saied power over the three branches of government as it poses a serious threat to human rights and will thwart democratic reform in the country.

The Presidential Decree[1], issued on 22 September 2021,is part of a set of exceptional measures to tackle instability in the country, including ongoing protests two months on from the suspension of parliament and the dismissal of the prime minister.

On 25 July 2021, the president declared a “state of exception” based on  the provisions of Article 80 of the Constitution, yet it effectively abolishes the current constitution, dismantling the separation of powers. The new decree dismantles the power of the legislative, allowing the President to legislate directly, bypassing the Assembly of the People’s Representatives without appropriate accountability, while it grants the President oversight over the judiciary. 

ARTICLE 19 is also alarmed that although the powers the decree grants are stated as temporary, no time limit has been specified, increasing the ambiguity of the process and prompting fears about its consequences.

The decree allows for continued suspension of the Assembly of the People’s Representatives, lifting deputies’ immunity so that they can face prosecution and introducing a procedure that will block salary payments to the assembly chairman and other members. Also, pursuant to Article 4, the President of the Republic has been empowered to enact decree-laws impacting 29 areas of the Parliament’s competence, including the regulation of the judiciary, elections, media and the press. Moreover, decree-laws issued by the President are immune from all judicial oversight in accordance with Article 7.

The overarching executive authority means the President of the Government has been stripped of most of his powers, turning him into a mere assistant to the President of the Republic, who is responsible for appointing members of the government, controls its programs and sets its priorities. Instead of reporting to Parliament, the government now reports to the President of the Republic, who can now revoke one or more of its members.

The Presidential Decree also effectively abolishes the current constitution, despite its stipulation that the preamble of the constitution will continue to be applied, along with the first and second chapters of the constitution, which relate to general principles, rights and freedoms and all constitutional provisions that do not conflict with the exceptional measures enshrined in the Presidential Decree.

Finally, Article 22 stipulates the creation of a committee to assist the President of the Republic in drafting amendments related to political reforms.

Overhauling the constitution and violating key principles

We note, first, that this Presidential Decree contradicts the provisions of Article 80 of the Constitution, which stipulates that the measures taken by the President of the Republic must be temporary and should solely be implemented in order to confront imminent danger. In practice, the measures that have been announced will be permanent, such as the abolition of the temporary commission overseeing draft laws and ensuring they adhere to the constitution, changes to the electoral law, and the creation of a new committee to draft amendments to the constitution.

The President of the Republic assigned himself the powers of legislative authority, which authorises him to issue decree-laws pertaining to various aspects of society, such as political parties, associations, organisations, constitutional authorities, and the implementation of justice, elections, media, and human rights. Article 7 also made these decree-laws immune to judicial oversight, which constitutes a flagrant violation of the principle of separation of powers. The principle requires that each authority be subject to the supervision of the other, and to Article 102 of the Constitution, which gives the judiciary responsibility to ensure the supremacy of the constitution, oversee all legal texts, and check the extent of compatibility with the constitution.

On the other hand, Article 22 of the Presidential Decree provided for the creation of a committee to draft constitutional amendments and legislative reforms specified by the President of the Republic. This confirms that the President singled out the political decision to institute unilateral reforms in the absence of Parliament and of any will to involve political and social forces and civil society organisations in formulating options that reflect the aspirations of all Tunisian people.

Democratic reform under threat

ARTICLE 19 warns against taking advantage of this exceptional circumstance and issuing decree-laws on political parties, associations, organisations and constitutional commissions, and the regulation of justice, elections, media and human rights in a unilateral manner, while Parliament is suspended and without the effective participation and consultation of the civil, social and political forces in the country. This is especially important since the constitutionality of these decree-laws cannot be challenged before the judiciary, which may constitute a deviation in power and a serious impediment to the possibility of any democratic reform in the country.

We also see that maintaining Chapter 2 of the Constitution, which relates to rights and freedoms, does not represent a real guarantee as long as the constitutional mechanisms to protect them have been frozen or suspended, since the President of the Republic can regulate freedoms through decree-laws that are not subject to judicial oversight, and since it is impossible for the Parliament to exercise political control over the executive authority because the functions of the Assembly of the People’s Representatives have been suspended. 

Of increasing concern is the targeting of individuals and groups who oppose President Kais Saied’s policies, a situation that has been exacerbated in recent weeks. These people have been defamed and insulted with total impunity, creating an atmosphere of intimidation that could result in individuals refraining from expressing their opinions freely and the absence of pluralism in Tunisian media.[2] Over the last two months, the media has largely avoided delving into political issues or broadcasting unbiased content in favour of the President of the Republic, a trend that will contribute to the decline of public debate and citizens’ participation in public affairs at a very delicate stage for the future of democracy and human rights in Tunisia.

Recommendations

In order to protect the democratic transition process in Tunisia, ARTICLE 19 recommends the following:

To the President of the Republic

  • To declare clearly when exactly the state of emergency will be lifted and the process for returning to democracy in accordance with the democratic principles of the Constitution.
  • To restore the competencies of the Assembly of the People’s representatives through snap legislative elections. 
  • To ensure the separation of the executive, legislative and judicial branches, in accordance with the Constitution, and avoid concentration of powers into one single person or instances depending on one single person.
  • To bring an end to unilateral policies and adopt a participatory approach that is open to all Tunisian people without any exclusion or discrimination.
  • To bring an end to unilateral policies and adopt a participatory approach that is open to all Tunisian people without any exclusion or discrimination.
  • To ensure the full respect of international human rights laws and standards, including the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights  (ICCPR), to which Tunisia is party.
  • To ensure that MPs and citizens are not prosecuted for expressing their opinions.
  • Any appointment of members of committees should be on the basis of competence and integrity in accordance with a participatory, pluralistic and transparent process.

To the Independent High Authority for Audio-visual Communication

  • Guarantee the media environment is balanced and ensure all political movements have access to the media.

To the media

  • Adhere to the ethics of the journalistic profession and uphold principles of objectivity and integrity when covering issues related to the current constitutional and political crisis.

To civil society organisations

  • Form a broad civil coalition to counter all retreat from the democratic process.
  • Continue to take an effective role in monitoring the government’s actions, spread the values ​​of a democratic society, and confront policies that infringe on rights and freedoms, as has been the practice since the beginning of the revolution in December 2010. 

[1] To read the Presidential Decree number 117 of 2021 dated 22 September 2021 and related to measures of exception, see here.

[2] To read the report of the High Authority for Audio-visual Communication related to political pluralism during the period following the president’s declaration of the state of exception, follow the link :

https://haica.tn/wp-content/uploads/2021/09/Rapport-pluralisme-25-31-juillet-2021.pdf

 

For press queries or to arrange an interview with one of ARTICLE 19’s experts, please email: [email protected]

Font Resize
Contrast