مصر: تتواصل حملة القمع باعتقال المدون وائل عباس

تدعو منظمة المادة 19 الحكومة المصرية إلى الإفراج فورا عن الناشط والمدون وائل عباس، الذي تم اعتقاله بعد اقتحام منزله في ساعة مبكرة من يوم 23 ماي واقتياده إلى مكان مجهول. ومنذ ذلك الحين لم يتم الإعلان عن أسباب اعتقاله أو مكان وجوده ولم يتم تمكينه من الاتصال بمحاميه. ويأتي اعتقال وائل عباس ضمن سلسلة من الاعتقالات التي شهدت ارتفعا مثيرا للقلق في استهداف المدونين والصحفيين، وذلك منذ إعادة انتخاب النظام القمعي للرئيس عبد الفتاح السيسي في شهر مارس الماضي.

وجدير بالذكر أنه تم قبل يوم واحد فقط من تاريخ اعتقال وائل عباس الحكم على الصحفي المصري إسماعيل الإسكندراني المعروف كذلك بكتاباته المناهضة للحكومة وانتقاده لدور الجيش في السياسة المصرية، بالسجن 10 سنوات أمام محكمة عسكرية بتهم ملفقة.

إن اعتقال وائل عباس هو أسلوب من أساليب إسكات أصوات منتقدي الحكومة الذي اختص به حكم السيسي وجعل عشرات الصحفيين والنشطاء ومستخدمي وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي يواجهون السجن لانتقادهم الحكومة. على مصر أن تضع حداً لهذه الحملة وأن تفرج فوراً عن المعتقلين لمجرد ممارستهم لحقهم في حرية التعبير، قالت سلوى غزواني، المديرة الإقليمية للمادة 19 في الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا.

Font Resize
Contrast

Egypt: Crackdown continues with blogger Wael Abbas arrested

Protection 1 min read
ARTICLE 19

ARTICLE 19 calls on the Egyptian government to immediately release activist and blogger Wael Abbas. Abbas was arrested after an early hours raid on his home on 23 May, and has since been held without access to his lawyer at an unknown location. The arrest comes as part of an alarming rise in arrests of bloggers and journalists following the March elections, which saw the re-election of the repressive regime of President Abdel Fatah el-Sisi.

Only the day before, journalist Ismail Alexandrani, also known for his anti-government writings and criticism of the army’s role in Egyptian politics, was reportedly sentenced to 10 years in prison by a military court on similarly trumped up charges.

The arrest of Wael is part of a pattern of silencing of government critics that has been a trademark of Sisi’s rule and has left dozens of journalists, activists and social media users facing prison for criticising the government. Egypt must end this crackdown and immediately release those detained simply for exercising their right to free expression”, said Saloua Ghazouani, Regional Director for ARTICLE 19 MENA.