Online Event: Join Special Rapporteurs in the launch of the 2020 Joint Declaration

Online Event: Join Special Rapporteurs in the launch of the 2020 Joint Declaration -

Time: 30 April 2020, 2pm BST, 3pm CEST, 6am PDT, 9am EDT (check your local time here)

On 30 April 2020, prior to the UNESCO World Press Freedom Day, freedom of expression rapporteurs will virtually launch their 2020 Joint Declaration on freedom of expression and elections in the digital age.

The 21st Joint Declaration responds to challenges to freedom of expression in the context of elections in the digital age. Free and fair elections are not only about casting a vote in proper conditions. Citizens must be informed about candidates and political parties and their programs so they can make an informed choice. The media play a crucial role in democratic elections. We are facing many new challenges to free and fair elections with a new media ecosystem, the major role of social media, access to and restrictions on the Internet, disinformation, hate speech and access to election related information.

In the Joint Declaration, the Special Rapporteurs outline a series of recommendations on how to address these challenges in compliance with international freedom of expression standards.

Joint Declarations by the Special Rapporteurs have been adopted annually since 1999, covering current universal challenges to freedom of expression. They have since become annual initiatives to address contemporary global challenges to free expression and present recommendations to States and other stakeholders.

 

Moderator: Barbora Bukovská, Senior Director for Law and Policy, ARTICLE 19

Speakers:

  • David Kaye, UN Special Rapporteur on Freedom of Opinion and Expression
  • Edison Lanza, the Organization of American States Special Rapporteur on Freedom of Expression
  • Harlem Désir, Representative on Freedom of the Media, Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe

The panel will also include: Toby Mendel, Executive Director, the Centre for Law and Democracy.

Register now

Time: 30 April 2020, 2pm BST, 3pm CEST, 6am PDT, 9am EDT (check your local time here)

Participants will receive login information upon approved registration.

For more information, please contact Kathleen Boyle at [email protected]
For media inquiries, please contact Pam Cowburn at [email protected]

To follow the discussion online, please use the hashtag #2020JointDeclaration